January 5, 2013

Patience is a virtue….and Practice makes Perfect!

Posted in Salon Talk, Work tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 8:21 pm by By Their Hands

So I’ve been out of the industry since 2000 really. I kept my license up after I left the salons and maintained skills working on friends and family, but eventually gave that up as well in 2003 and just worked on myself all this time until I decided to get back into doing that I love.

Needless to say, I’ve got a bit of rust to dust off and thankfully, the nail techs I’m working with at my current salon either dont want to do enhancements OR have been doing them for 20+ years so I have a good solid base of support and opportunity to work with.

The hard part is, I have to wait a bit until our department head feels my work is good enough when it comes to gels/acrylics. I get it – I dont want to put out sub-par work either and certainly not at the prices our high-end salon is charging! But it also makes for impatience on my part as I want to go go go!

So what then, have I been doing to in between clients for services I can do successfully (manis, pedis, gel polish, etc) to promote my education, experience and general practice? PRACTICE!

That’s right. When I dont have a client in my chair to work on, and I’m not out networking for new ones in the salon by offering hand massages, etc, I sit my butt down with my supplies and implements and get to work on practicing my pink and whites. (Single color I’m alright with, but the P&W I have to do a little more on.)

I highly recommend it to everyone. At the least, clients are seeing me working on something and looking busy, which always gives the impression that the salon is successful and bustling. It can also prompt curiosity and questions, which lead to opportunities for not only education, but revenue as well and potential clients for me. And, of course, it allows me to keep my skills up and get even better at what I’m doing.

I know this will all pay off, quite literally. But I just want those out there to also realize it is alright to practice, even with experience and especially without. It only makes you better!

Leave a comment